Garemount Lodge

Introducing Garemont Lodge, 4 Star Self-Catering in Helensburgh, Argyll & Bute…

Tell us a bit about yourself; what made you start providing accommodation? What was it that made you choose your property in the very beginning?

We build Garemount Lodge in 1986 in the grounds of a Victorian mansion overlooking the Gareloch, near Helensburgh. The home was individually architect-designed, replicating an old Scottish cottage. After six years we extended our home so that I could provide Bed & Breakfast in two en suite bedrooms. In 2004 I decided to convert this into a self-catering accommodation with an open-plan kitchen/living room downstairs, and a double bedroom with adjoining bathroom upstairs. Over the years I have enjoyed welcoming visitors from all over the world.

What do you think are the main reasons your guests choose your accommodation?
Probably because of its position, overlooking the Gareloch, one mile from the Conservation village of Rhu, and four miles from the Victorian waterside town of Helensburgh. It’s on the Clyde Sea Lochs Trail and is adjoining the Loch Lomond National Park, within easy reach of the Western Highlands, Inveraray, Glasgow, Stirling, and the Trossachs.

What do you think are the main reasons why visitors come to your area?
Visitors come to this area for the beautiful scenery, also golf, gardens, sailing, horse-riding, walking, castles, yet within easy reach of Glasgow.

Has your accommodation received any awards, or especially suited to certain visitors?
My accommodation was awarded a Four Star rating by Visit Scotland (the Scottish Tourist Board).

What do you think makes your accommodation stand out from the crowd?
My accommodation is in a lovely position overlooking the Gareloch, and is well-equipped, clean, and welcoming. It sleeps two and is perfect for couples.

Is your accommodation dog friendly? If yes, tell us what dog friendly venues are to be found locally; eg doggy friendly pubs, beaches, walks etc.
We accept one dog – there are lots of good places for dog-walking in this area. I have a folder in the accommodation of recommended dog-walks. Our local village of Rhu, one mile away, has a dog-friendly pub, the Rhu Inn.

Where do you like to eat or drink (close to your accommodation)? What do you recommend on the menu?!
Rhu, the nearest village one mile away, has a hotel The Rosslea, and a marina cafe. Helensburgh, four miles away, now has a variety of good eating places and coffee shops. The Commodore Hotel has a varied menu in pleasant surroundings – perfect for supper. The Riverhill Courtyard has an exciting menu, in an interesting building. La Barca on the front is a prize-winning tapas restaurant. The Marsala Twist is a very good Indian restaurant. The Cattle and Creel, also on the front, is a modern, well-recommended restaurant. And there are several other restaurants worth trying too.

What’s your favourite place to go in your area that you think people should try and visit?
The Hill House is a must to visit. This is Charles Rennie Mackintosh’s masterpiece in Helensburgh.
Do you have any advice you want to give to people coming to stay in your area?

Bring yourselves and your enthusiasm for exploring. We’re a good centre for touring the countryside in each direction, yet handy for the big city – Glasgow is less than an hour away, and there’s a direct train to Edinburgh from Helensburgh.

Show us your best or favourite review.

“We have never experienced such well-equipped self catering accomodation. It was spotlessly clean, and EVERYTHING one could possibly want or find useful was provided. Janet was friendly and really helpful, as was the literature she made available for local attractions”

Anything else you would like to share with our readers?
My accommodation sleeps two persons in a double-bedded room, so it’s perfect for couples. The adjoining bathroom has a full-size bath, over-bath shower, shaver point, and a selection of toiletries. The kitchen/living-room downstairs is fully-equipped with oven, ceramic hob, extractor, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, freezer and a washing service. There’s oak flooring and a leather sofa and chair, plus TV, digital radio, iPod player, DVD player, and fresh flowers plus a tea-tray with home-made cakes to welcome you. Outside there is a small patio with a table and chairs, and off-road parking. My rates are from £300 to £420 per week, inclusive of gas central-heating, electricity, bedlinen and towels.

Visit our website:

Show You Care & Share